October 14

🇦🇷 🇧🇷 GMT-3 2:00 to 5:00 pm | 🇪🇺 GMT+2/CET 7:00 to 10:00 pm

Rodolfo Caesar

Considerations on the sense of 'sound': two fables

The status of sound as a thing in itself.

Appearing as the central motor of our line of research, which we call Sonology, I argue that it is in fact ‘listening’ that occupies this place. Just like light for visible things, sound is only a vehicle. Its reception by the sensory system is confusing and misleading, as it is less an object than something built by our own ‘inventions’. In this talk I will be helped by two birds’ stories.

Roberto Barbanti

Elements for an acoustical-sound epistemology

In a world-famous text, Ilya Prigogine and Isabelle Stengers affirm that "the fundamental concepts that founded the classical conception of the world have today found their limits". In fact, the global crisis in action that crosses all aspects of reality calls for another type of reflection and acquisition of knowledge. However, the epistemological reflection refers mainly to a change of conceptual paradigm by evoking and invoking a reform, even a revolution, of the thought. In other words, it is the abstract reason that is concerned by the change and considered the protagonist of it.

But what about the aesthetic question? What role does the aisthesis play in this process? Is it possible to identify modalities of aesthetic relation adequate to this new and necessary cognitive competence? Can the acoustical-sound dimension give us founded and functional elements for change? What are its teachings?


Roberto Barbanti (Paris8, France)

Rodolfo Caesar (UFRJ, Brasil)

Lilian Campesato (USP, Brasil) - Designated debater

Suzel Reily (UNICAMP, Brasil) - Designated debater

Raúl Minsburg (UNTREF, Argentina) - Moderator

Alejandro Reyna (UNL, Argentina)

Anastasia Georgaki (UOA, Greece)

Andrea Cohen (Radio France, France/Argentina))

Andre Luiz Gonçalves de Oliveira (UNICAMP, Brasil)

Damián Rodrigués Kees (UNL, Argentina)

Denise Garcia (UNICAMP, Brasil)

Diego Makedonsky (UNTREF, Argentina)

Gonzalo Biffarella (Argentina)

Gustavo Basso (UNLP, Argentina)

Hildegard Westerkamp (Vancouver, Canada)

Janete El Haouli (UEL, Brasil)

José Augusto Mannis (UNICAMP, Brasil)

Jose Luis Carles (UAM, Espanha)

Makis Solomos (Paris8, France)

Stéphan Schaub (UNICAMP, Brasil)

Valéria Bonafé (USP, Brasil)